National Commission for Women


In a world that strives for gender equality, various institutions play a pivotal role in ensuring that women’s rights are protected and their voices are heard. One such institution is the National Commission for Women (NCW). Established with the primary objective of safeguarding and promoting the rights of women in India, the NCW has been instrumental in addressing gender-based issues and empowering women across the nation. In this blog, we will delve into the functions, history, and significance of the National Commission for Women.

National Commission for Women

The National Commission for Women (NCW) is a statutory body in India that was established to promote and protect the rights of women in the country. It was set up in 1992 under the provisions of the National Commission for Women Act, 1990. The primary mandate of the NCW is to ensure gender equality and to work towards the elimination of discrimination and violence against women.


Chairperson: A woman who is committed to the cause of women and is nominated by the Central Government.
Member Secretary: A woman who is an officer of the Central Government or of an All India Service or holds a civil post under the Central Government with appropriate experience.
Five other members: These members are also nominated by the Central Government from amongst persons of ability, integrity, and standing who have experience in various fields such as law or legislation, trade unionism, management of industry, potential of women, women’s voluntary organizations, education, administration, economic development, and social good being.
The current members of the NCW are:

Chairperson: Rekha Sharma
Member Secretary: Meenakshi Negi
Kushboo Sundar
Delina Khongdup
Mamta Kumari


Share this:

Leave a Comment